Off Season Work

The 2017 golf season is right around the corner (or maybe not given Ottawa received a fresh 15cm of snow two days ago). Either way, I have been working on my game. Not as much as I had planned or would have liked to, but working on my game nonetheless.

My off season focus was mainly to stay sharp. I joined an indoor facility that had some hitting stations as well as a putting and chipping area. In December I had a chance to take the first real lesson of my life and it helped give me some focus on where to concentrate my efforts going into the 2017 season.

Progress has been slow and I haven’t dedicated as much time as I should have, but I am in the midst of trying to get my shoulders to start my swing vs my wrists in an effort to get my swing a little more upright. It doesn’t feel natural yet and I am sure this correction will throw something else off, but one step at a time.

BeFunky Collage

Full Video of Old Take Away

Full Video of New Take Away

Time will tell how well this integrates into my game this season.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Peter Jones says:

    Hi, I think practicing in the off season is very important..especially trying to cement a new swing. I recommend trying to get a golf mat and net to give yourself the freedom of practicing at home. I wrote a small post regarding this; check it out here:

    http://www.golfingswingtips.com/what-is-the-best-golf-practice-net/

  2. Brewcee

    I agree with Josh and Brian. Your efforts in the off season are paying off. Not if we could just hit the links…..

    Cheers
    Jim

  3. Brian Penn says:

    Brewcee, positions look much better on the back swing. Stick with it and good luck!

    Brian

  4. Aaron,

    Takeaway is looking much better in that right picture. I had a similar issue I’m working out in that I got the club/arms behind me too quickly. One of the things I’m also working out this winter. Keep up the good work!

    Cheers
    Josh

Leave a comment