Course Review: Hidden Lake – New Course

NX98gcTr

A 36 hole daily fee facility in Burlington, ON, Hidden Lake is one of the few ClubLink courses open to daily green fee players.

The course offers what one would expect from a ClubLink, well maintained grounds, fully stocked proshop and professional customer service. While I can’t speak for the old course, I found the New Course was somewhat ho hum in terms of interesting holes, with the exception of a great risk reward hole, the par 5 14th which dares you to go for it in two by clearing a pond sitting right in front of the green.

Location:

1137 1 SIDEROAD, Burlington, ON L7P 0T1

screenshot-www.google.ca 2017-06-04 20-45-54

Course Designer:

Not sure. There is nothing on the ClubLink website. I suspect the new course was designed by either or both of George Tidd and Terry Parker, who were the managing partners of the club from 1979 through 2014, and oversaw its expansion from 18 to 36 holes.

Year Opened:

Unsure. The original 18 opened in 1962 as Lake Medad Golf & Country Club, was sold in 1979 and then sold to ClubLink in 2014. From what I can tell, the expansion from 18 to 36 holes took place sometime soon after the first sale in 1979.

Cost: 

Daily Fee – $$

A decent GTA course for $70 prime time sounds like a steal to me. If it was Ottawa market I would say it is overpriced, but I suspect for the GTA this is a decent range. Also, I hear it is often featured on UnderPar, where you can get a good deal.

Membership – $$

ClubLink has it listed as a silver club, which on the pecking order its near the bottom. Listed at just under $4,000 for the year, this would be heart attack worthy for a public course in Ottawa, but again, I suspect this is pretty decent in the GTA.

Scorecard:

screenshot-en.clublink.ca 2017-06-04 20-51-21.png

Favorite Hole:

The par 5 14th is a really great golf hole. Only playing 460 from the blues a good drive leaves you with a bit less than 200 to the green. The only problem is you can’t roll it on. The green is protected by a pond of about 40 yards in width. The second shot on this hole will make you think, and I suspect that pond eats a lot of balls.

20170604_090323.jpg

Why I Would Go Back:

At first, I thought, “I am not sure I would go back”, but I would, for two reasons. One, to play the old course (the other 18) and two, I feel like its a course you could really go low on. Its not overly long, the greens can be tricky, but aren’t super fast and there isn’t a whole lot of trouble on the course.

Interesting Information:

The New Course at Hidden Lake has one of the worst designed risk reward holes I have ever played. The par 4 16th is 305 yards long from the Blues. It is narrow with bunkers on both sides of the fairways, so far sounds pretty risk rewardy, right. Short of the green is all bunker. Meaning, there is no way to roll a ball on, meaning, unless you can hit a 300 yard drive that doesn’t roll, you can’t drive the green, meaning there is no reward in going for it. It is essentially a short par 4 with (for longer hitters) a forced lay up off the tee. This would be a great par 4 had they created a way through the green side bunkers, so you could go for it.

We played the course in the pouring rain. The course drained extremely well.

Photos:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ratings:

course-ratings-for-blog.jpg

Bucket List = How high on list of my courses to play

Overall it was ok. The course was in great shape and the staff was super professional and friendly. The greens were on the slow slide, although that may have been weather related. The courses isn’t overly exciting or tough, and for that, I think it was ok, but nothing more. Next time I am in the area, I would play it again, but would prefer to check out a new course I haven’t played yet.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

 

Leave a Reply

