Course Review – Brudenell River Golf Course

brudenell-logo1One of PEI’s finest, Brudenell River is a very playable course, offering opportunities and challenges to all skill levels.

Location:

The course is part of the Brudenell River Resort, along with its sister course Dundarave.

screenshot-www-google-ca-2016-10-28-22-41-53
Brudenell River Golf Course is about 45min east of the Charlottetown Airport

Course Designer: 

C. E. Robbie Robinson, the architect of many notable Canadian courses, including Hamilton Golf & Country Club. He also has designed two courses in my neck of the woods, Rideau View Golf & Country Club and Upper Canada Golf Course.

In addition to Brudenell, he has two other PEI courses to his credit, Stanhope Golf & Country Club and Mill River Golf Course.

Year Opened:

Brudenell opened in 1969 and was one of, if not the first 18 hole championships golf course on the island.

Cost: $$$

$80 CDN walking isn’t the most expensive round of golf I have ever played, but its definitely above average for me.

Scorecard:

screenshot-peisfinestgolf-com-2016-10-28-23-03-40screenshot-peisfinestgolf-com-2016-10-28-23-04-07

Favorite Hole:

The par 3 10th is a pretty cool hole and it advertised as their signature hole, but my favorite was actually the par 3 5th, with the water on your left, woods on the right and a stream in front of the green you didn’t have much option to bail out, you had to go for it.

2016_0810_073204_001.JPG

Why I would go back:

I made a couple of poor doubles on the front 9 that I would like back. The scenery was great and the course was fun to play.

Interesting Fact:

The course is set up as 6 par 4s, 6 par 3s and 6 par 5s, evenly split between the front and back 9s.

Photos:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ratings:

course-ratings-for-blog

Bucket List = How high on my list of courses to play.

Overall, I really liked Brudenell. I had wanted to play it for a while, so was happy to cross it off my list, and I wasn’t disappointed.

The only think I didn’t like about the course was the putting green, which was built on the side of a hill so had a huge slope to it, whereas most of the greens on the course were pretty flat.

See you at the turn.

Brewcee

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Drago B. says:

    Nice review Aron 👍🏼⛳️🏌

  2. mrj803 says:

    Hi Aaron.
    I agree about the 5th hole, it’s a beauty. It’s definitely a course I could play over and over again. I enjoyed the review, brought back some great memories. I’m going to make it a priority to come out your way for a round next season.
    Cheers, Mike

Leave a comment