Central Alberta Golf

This past week I had the pleasure of playing some fine examples of the quality golf that exists in central Alberta. As with most of my “golf” trips, they are actually work trips where I find a couple of free hours. I was lucky on this trip that I found time for 3 rounds.

While course reviews will be forthcoming, I quick overview of the week included rounds at Red Deer Golf & Country Club, River Bend Golf Club and Wolf Creek Golf Resort (Old Course). 

The trip started on Wednesday with an early flight out from Ottawa followed by a day of meetings in Red Deer. The day finished with some  colleagues taking us out for an evening round at the Red Deer Golf & Country Club, a course virtually unheard of to me previously, but well worth the experience. While an old style parkland style, the course features some great views of the Red Deer river and is anything by flat. The course was in great shape for spring. As my first round of the year my play was sporadic. While I hit the ball well my distances were all off, leaving me with lots of up and downs that were more up than down. I finished with an 86 that could have easily been an 80.

20160504_172055
The par 5 4th at the Red Deer Golf & Country Club. The Red Deer river on the right, was so high during the Alberta flood of 2013 that the lower portion of the hole was completely under water.

Thursday was a day full of meetings and no golf was played.

Friday the meetings ended just after lunch and by 3pm everyone had gone their separate ways. As I had already planned to stay an extra day to play golf Saturday morning, I had Friday afternoon and evening open. With no plans, a colleague and I decided to play an unplanned round of golf at the municipal owned, non-profit operated, River Bend Golf Club. Like the Country Club, River Bend sits along the Red Deer river, but at the exact opposite end of the city. Like the country club, River Bend was in excellent shape for the time of year, with the only down side being the greens had been punched and dressed a couple of days earlier. The course had a lot of water and really large greens. The layout, with water along the edges and lots of water hazards throughout reminded me a little bit of Waterloo’s Grey Silo at times. I hit the ball solid and a little more consistent than Wednesday, but I wasn’t able to figure out the greens, especially since they had been aerated and top dressed recently. I missed a 5 footer on 18 for a 79 and walked away with an 80 that could have been a round in the 70s.

20160506_162652
The par 4 2nd at River Bend, looking back over the green from behind. The water you see comes into play on 3 or 4 holes.

Saturday morning was the real reason I brought my clubs with me to Red Deer as I was heading 25 minutes up highway 2 to play the celebrated Rob Whitman (Cabot Links, Sagebrush) track Wolf Creek. Wolf Creek features two courses on the property and I was set to play the 2014 Score Golf 30th ranked Old Course. As I had told people throughout the week about my Saturday morning plans I received several warnings that the course wasn’t in great shape and was “gimmicky”. Following my round I had two thoughts, one, not in great shape, meant somewhat brown, which is what you would expect from a links style course and two, gimmicky meant tough. The facility is very rustic with a log cabin for a club house and nothing overly fancy about it, but I pretty much loved every minute of it. Like River Bend, the greens had been aerated recently, but unlike River Bend they had done a fantastic job maintaining the role on the greens (if not the speed). We got lucky with the weather as there was sunny skies and virtually no wind, the course would play about 10 times harder with wind I imagine. I had the best day of my three shooting a 4 over 74, including 3 birdies (two on the back) and no doubles.

20160507_094718
The log cabin clubhouse of Wolf Creek Golf Resort in the distance with the 15th and 18th fairways in view

I headed home Saturday night with my first three rounds of the season under my belt and an eagerness to build on my play from Alberta.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Aaron,

    You were in my neck of the woods! You managed to play some tracks I haven’t yet experienced. I’m itching to get out to Wolf Creek…nice playing there!

    Cheers
    Josh

    1. aaronrbruce says:

      Wolf creek is definitely worth the trip, plus I had a pretty good day. Its not a long course, but we didn’t play the tips, which made it that much shorter (par 70 under 6,000 yards).

Leave a Reply

