2016 Planning Part 2 – Destination Golf

Part 2 of my 2016 golf season planning looks at my destination golf schedule. It is important to note that I use the term destination loosely here as many of the locations are not exactly what people think of when they think golf get away.

I am fortunate enough to get to travel across Canada for work and I take my clubs whenever I can. This summer will be no exception as I have a few trips already planned for work that I am going to find time to squeeze a round in while in town.

Winnipeg, MB

I played St. Boniface a couple of summers back and really enjoyed it. I am looking forward to hitting the links in Friendly Manitoba again this season.

So far I have two confirmed trips to Winnipeg, one at the end of May and one in mid October. I don’t have any definite plans yet, but looks like I will be getting in a round at Breezy Bend Country Club, which sounds like a pitch and putt, but is actually private club that has hosted the Canadian Tour’s Manitoba Open, the Canadian Junior Golf Championship, and the Canadian Mid-Amateur Golf Championships.

What I like about the golf scene in Winnipeg is the great facility names. Just to name a few,  Tuxedo Golf Club, Player’s Golf Course, Shooter’s Family Golf Centre, Hackers & Smackers driving range and the previously mentioned Breezy Bend.

Red Deer, AB

I have made a few trips out to Red Deer over the last year, but this year will be first opportunity to get on a golf course while in town.

With an upcoming trip in a few weeks I have locked down rounds at Red Deer Golf & Country Club (likely only 9 holes) and Wolf Creek Resort (Old Course).  I am exciting to get a look at Wolf Creek as it was ranked 30th in the 2014 Score Golf Top 100 and 20th in the 2015 Score Golf Top 59 public courses.

The good thing about Red Deer is that it is accessible, located between Calgary and Edmonton on Highway 2, an hour a bit from each major airport. This also provides  opportunities for rounds in either Calgary or Edmonton when in Red Deer for work.

Southwestern ON

I grew up and have played a lot of golf in southwestern Ontario so it is always fun to go back. Normally when I head south it is to visit family, but this summer I will be on the road through the GTA, Niagara and Kitchener/Waterloo for work in August.

Given the agenda of the trip, setting up a golf game is going to be logistically challenging, but I am hoping it works out as I have lots of friends and lots of favorite courses in the area. Specially on my list is to get back to Grey Silo in Waterloo. I was a student at the University of Waterloo when Grey Silo opened and played it a couple of times in the early years. Now over a decade in and 2 LPGA events later, I am interested to see the course again.

Any destinations in your summer plans?

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Johnson says:

    Great list of the most beautiful golf destinations. Keep ’em coming Brewcee! 🙂

  2. Aaron,

    Looks like a great summer ahead! No huge travels (yet) outside of Alberta, and likely a trip to the Okanagan. Will hopefully add some other travels plans to the agenda.

    Cheers
    Josh

  3. Brewcee, You should come and tee it up on PEI. We have great golf.

    Cheers, Tiff

  4. Brewcee

    Sounds like a fun summer. I played Wolf Creek when it first opened. I do not remember much except it was challenging! Have fun.

    Cheers
    Jim

Leave a Reply

