2016 Planning Part 1 – Competition Plan

With golf season getting underway here in Ottawa its time to take a look at my plans for the 2016 season. In part 1 I detail out my competition plan, while part 2 will take a look at some of my destination (term used lightly) golf.

My 2016 will consist of three streams of competition

  1. Slammer Tour – Tour Championship   slammertour200

This is a season long scratch match play that kicks off in June and runs until the fall. Individuals are responsible to set up their own matches at any Slammer Tour event on the schedule. I have played a bit here and there on the Slammer Tour for the past couple of seasons, but this will be my first go at the Tour Championship. The bracket should go live in mid May. Given this is my first year and I don’t play a lot of Slammer Tour events in general, I suspect I will have a fairly low seeding, which will make going deep in the bracket tough, but I am looking forward to the challenge.

2. Ottawa Valley Golf Assocation (OVGA)

The 2016 season will be a bit of a shake up for the OVGA as they moved their City & District

ATT_1440979021573_20150830_185200
2015 Metcalfe Golf Club Champion

Championships to the end of June on a weekend (previously mid week in August). Will be interesting to see how that changes the field.

June 25 – 27 OVGA Men’s A City & District Championships – Sandpoint GC / Rivermead GC

August 20 – 21 Metcalfe Golf Club Championships

If I win the Metcalfe Club Champs I will qualify for the 2016 OVGA Tournament of Champions in September.

 

 

 

3. Golf Channel Amateur Tour   golf channel tour logo

This will be a new adventure for me. With the BMG Cup Series being discontinued by Flagstick Golf Magazine there was a void left in the Ottawa competitive golf scene, and the Golf Channel Tour has moved in to fill that void.

June 11 – Ottawa Open – eQuinelle GC

July 4 – Eagle Creek Ottawa Valley Open – Eagle Creek GC

July 27 – Grey Hawk – Talon (no catchy name for this one I guess)

August 13 – Smuggler’s Glen (they must have run out of catchy names)

Should I play well in these 4 events I could qualify for the National Championship at the end of September at Angus Glen.

That’s my competitive season in a nut shell.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Aaron,

    Sounds like a solid plan, best of luck and keep us posted!

    Cheers
    Josh

  2. Brewcee

    Good luck!

    Cheers
    Jim

Leave a Reply

