Another Masters Blog

The Masters - Final Round
Phil Mickelson of the United States hits his tee shot on the 12th hole during the final round of the 2015 Masters Tournament at Augusta National Golf Club on April 12, 2015 in Augusta, Georgia. (Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images)

I’m not going to lie, even if I didn’t have a one year old running around, yelling (who knew they yelled so much), and learning what is edible through trial and error (interesting approach to assume everything is edible), I  wouldn’t be glued to the TV over the next four days for the Masters.

For one, its just not my style. I’m not a patient person. I find watching a 6 hour round of golf as painful as playing a 6 hour round of golf and would still chose playing a 6 hour round over watching a round 10 times out of 10. Secondly, and here is where most will disagree with me, I find the Thursday and Friday round of the Masters no different than any other tournament, besides the hype of course. I will likely catch bits and pieces of the TSN streaming while at work, but won’t be paying too much attention to it. Come Saturday I will likely watch a bit (maybe 30 min throughout the afternoon) and pay pretty close attention on twitter and the Masters App. Sunday is when it really starts for me, and Sunday around 4pm is likely when I will try and sneak away from that thing called life to spend some quality time with the downstairs couch. The home stretch of a Major, and especially the Masters can be one of the most roller coaster endings in sport, one swing and the leader is no longer the leader, one putt and an also ran is now closing the gap. The back 9 of the final round of a golf tournament is like a 3 hour horse race, and its all amplified at Augusta.

With that, here are some of my predictions for the 2016 Master’s

  1. Someone who is past their prime and not a predicted to contend is going to have a great first round and be high on the leaderboard. They will stay in contention through Friday and play in the afternoon on Saturday. Saturday won’t go so well and by Sunday afternoon we will all forget they were even in contention. My prediction is this will be Vijay Singh.
  2. No amateur will content, although announcers will spend a lot of time talking about them. Top amateur will be Derek Bard (I don’t like picking favorites)
  3. Announcers will spend a lot of time talking about whether the 13th is long enough/difficult enough. They will conclude it should be left alone.
  4. We won’t have a repeat of 2015 where Spieth ran away with it. I think this will come down to the back 9 on Sunday with 4 players still within striking distance. The leader going into the back 9 on Sunday won’t win. McIlroy, Mickelson, B. Watson, and Day will all make the turn on Sunday with a chance.
  5. I am picking Mickelson to win it. He plays creative and aggressive enough to catching someone on the back 9 and I think he will.

I am starting to hear some chatter about the wind being a factor. Unless it is crazy British Open wind, I don’t see it having a major impact on who wins, but could have an impact on overall scoring.

Have fun watching this weekend,

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

 

 

Leave a Reply

