Thoughts on SCOREGolf Top 59 Public Courses

img_top59canpubcouSCOREGolf  has been publishing a Top Golf Courses in Canada list every other year since 1988, first with a Top 15 and then starting in 2000 a Top 100. I am not sure when they started doing the Top Public Courses list, but I know they had a list in 2011 with courses ranked by Province, not overall.

The 2015 list, the Top 59 Public Courses in Canada, was enveiled the other day.  I am not sure why they picked to rank 59 courses. There is either  a story behind it, or that was the number of courses that met the criteria (a course had to be rated by at least seven SCOREGolfcourse raters to be eligible for this ranking).

Of the 59 courses there are a handful I have played and a bunch on my bucket list. The courses I have played:

  • Humber Valley (Deer Lake, NL) – 4th
  • The Links at Crowbush Cove (Morell, PE) – 9th
  • Taboo Resort (Gravenhurst, ON) – 32nd
  • Heritage Pointe (Calgary, AB) – 39th
  • Black Bear Ridge (Belleville, ON) – 46th
  • Tarandowah (Avon, ON) – 59th

The bucket list courses:

  • Cabot Links (Inverness, NS) – 1st
    • Who wouldn’t?
  • Highlands Links (Ingonish Beach, NS) – 3rd
    • A course that has always peaked my interest.
  • Tobiano (Kamloops, BC) – 10th
    • I am a big fan Thomas McBroom designs.
  • Cobble Beach (Owen Sound, ON) – 17th
    • Been on my radar since it hosted Ontario Mid-Am a couple years ago.
  • Glen Abbey (Oakville, ON) – 26th
    • Everyone I know that has played it says it is overrated and not worth the green fee. With that said, it has hosted 25 Canadian Opens, so I want to see it for myself.
  • Dundarave (Roseneath, PE) – 27th
    • Played lots of golf on the island, but both Dundarave and Brudenell have eluded me thus far.
  • Dakota Dunes (Saskatoon, SK) – 28th
    • Saskatchewan is one of two Provinces I haven’t played golf in (NS being the other). What better place to start than a PGA Tour Canada (I mean Mackenzie Tour) stop.
  • Le Geant (Mont Tremblant, QC) – 29th
    • Being in Ottawa we get a lot of marketing for Mont Tremblant, so I see ads for Le Geant fairly regularly. Plus, Thomas McBroom.
  • Angus Glen – South (Markham, ON) – 50th
    • Host of Canada Opens, Host of Pan Am Games, works for me.

A couple additional thoughts

  • I like how they also provided a value ranking, a nice guide to seeing where your money might be best spent.
  • Tarandowah might be my favorite course in the world and I think it deserves better than 59th. It is missing is a nice club house and its location in the middle of nowhere is likely also working against it.
  •  I played Heritage last summer and while I nice course, I don’t see it as the 39th best public course and 95th best overall course in Canada. Now, I didn’t play the Heritage 9, so maybe that would have made the difference.

As with any list or ranking, its always up for debate. Whats your favorite public course(s) in Canada, did it make the list?

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

Leave a Reply

