That’s a Wrap on the 2014 Golf Season

The 2014 golf season has come to an end. Some folks may still have a couple of games in them, but from a Golf Canada handicap perspective, October 31st was it, no more official rounds after that.  From a personal perspective, my course, Metcalfe Golf in Ottawa, closed down for the season yesterday, Nov 6th. My last round was two weekends ago on October 25th at Casselview just east of Ottawa.

As the season comes to an end and I exchange my golf clubs for a squash racquet I like to look back and see what I accomplished, but also what my shortcomings were. While I realize that a golf season is made up of more than just the objective stats, I tend to rate the success of my season on a couple of key stats. Firstly, my handicap. Say what you will about the method in which they are calculated, a handicap is the single most direct way to compare yourself to any other golfer out there and yourself year over year. Secondly I look at fairways hit, followed by greens in regulation and finally putts per hole. I know there a lot more stats out there to analysis, but these 4 give me a good snap shot of the state of my game.

As mentioned above, a golf season is more than just the stats. In this department I had a wildly successful season. The 2014 golf season saw my tee it up in Newfoundland, British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, Quebec, New York State, and of course Ontario. Even within Ontario I had the opportunity to play a number of courses I had never played before. All in, I played 21 courses in 2014 for the first time.

From a meat and potatoes standpoint, my year was much like past years, inconsistent. I would go a couple weeks on fire, followed by a couple weeks of playing like a bum. I would shoot a 75 one day and follow it up with an 85 the next. For whatever the reason, this has been my golf game for the past several years, frustrating, but reality.

Now for the stats

  • Games played – 67 (57 in 2013)
  • Scoring Average – 79.8 (79.6 in 2013)
  • End of Handicap Factor – 5.4 (4.7 in 2013)
  • % Fairways Hit – 55% (56% in 2013)
  • % Greens in Regulation – 47% (47% in 2013)
  • Putts per hole – 1.81 (1.76 in 2013).

For the second year in a row my putting stats got worse, which is a troubling stat. I tried a lot of different approaches with the putter in 2014, everything from switching putters to switching grips. I went back to putting cross handed half way through the year, but the stats don’t support the notion that it helped my game as I actually putted worse in August and September then I did in June and July.

All and all I had a rather frustrating season, mainly because it was the first season since 2008 where I haven’t finished the season with a better factor then when I started.

From a  game standpoint, top three highlights were:

And with that it is time to start thinking about next year. Between Christmas lists, setting of goals and some off season fitness the 2015 golf season will be here before we know it.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Aaron

    I agree with Josh, you might be focusing on the wrong thing. A low round of par at Metcalfe, more rounds than the previous year, and number of provinces you golfed in are all highlights. Sometimes we do not see the forest for the trees and believe me I can relate. Have an awesome off season! Season opens in less that 5 months!

    Cheers
    Jim

    1. aaronrbruce says:

      Your right Jim! definitely some memorable moments this past year. Can’t wait until next season already.

  2. Aaron,

    Although you were frustrated with your season, it sounds like you still have some great positive moments to take away from it. Remember those and build off of them. The off season is a fantastic time to hit the reset button, assess your goals, get the body fit and work on the mental game. Best of luck!

    Cheers
    Josh

    1. aaronrbruce says:

      Thanks Josh. Definitely some great moments this season and some things to work towards next year.

Leave a Reply

