Heritage Pointe – Pointe and Desert Courses

26277While in Alberta for work in August I stayed with an old work colleague in Calgary who graciously indulged my desire to play a top 100 course in the country by taking me out for a round at Heritage Pointe just south of the city.

The facility features 3 distinct 9 holes, the Pointe, Heritage and Desert courses. The Pointe and Heritage are similar in that they feature lots of elevation and bush, while the Desert is a links style course with more real estate development around it.

The property is very nice, featuring a decent sized pro shop situated in a large modern club house. The restaurant has a nice patio that overlooks the course. The price to play (with cart) is steep at $118 plus tax on weekends.

IMG_1285
1st Tee Heritahe Point – Pointe Course

The course was nice, but I wouldn’t say it was spectacular, especially when I dropped $120 to play. The Point course featured some good scenery and elevation changes, The elevation changes made club selection quite difficult, but I was lucky to have a guide as my colleagues brother was a member of the course.

IMG_1291
The 6th tee. This par 3 had such an elevated tee that club selection was nearly impossible. I hit my tee shot into hill over back right of green

The 1st, 4th and 7th holes on the Point course were quite nice with a good mix of elevation and water hazards. I found the par 5 5th and par 3 6th holes a bit wonky in the fact that the elevation changes made club selection nearly impossible. The par 5 5th featured an approach shot to a postage stamp sized green at least 50 feet straight up and if you went long, your chip coming back had a good chance of rolling off the green and back down the hill.

IMG_1289
Hitting into the green on the par 4 4th

The Desert course was a little more boring, very little elevation change, but more fescue. I normally like links style courses, but this one didn;t do it for me for whatever reason. There wasn’t anything in particular that I liked or disliked about this 9. My favorite holes were the par 5 7th, which featured a good risk reward since you could get the green in 2, but missing it left or right didn’t leave you with many options for chipping up to the green, and the 9th which was a solid golf hole, requiring a good tee shot and an approach over water to the green.

IMG_1296
The 2nd tee on the flatter Desert course
IMG_1299
The par 5 7th on the Desert Course

After playing the course I was a little surprised it made the Score Golf Top 100 cut. It in a summer where I had the opportunity to plat a few courses from the list, this was the only course that left me a little wanting.

My day wasn’t great with 4 doubles on my card for an 85.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Interesting review! I haven’t played the pointe 9 yet but recently reviewed the desert/heritage combination. I really enjoyed it, there are some fantastic holes on the heritage 9.

    Cheers
    Josh

Leave a Reply

