Metcalfe Golf Club Championships

A little late, but real life got busy the past couple of weeks.

August 16th/17th was club championship weekend at Metcalfe Golf. Having not played in last years championship due to work commitments I was eager for the chance to reclaim the title I last won in 2011. The field for the “A” championship at Metcalfe is pretty small, with only a handful of single digit handicaps at the club. When registration closed we had 7 players looking to be the 2014 Club Champion.

Day 1 was miserable. The rain started just as my name was called to the tee and didn’t stop until well after we completed our round. In a sense we were lucky because about 20 min after we finished the skies really opened up and a couple of holes ended up under water. Playing in the rain was a clear advantage for me, I was well prepared (rain gear, bag cover, gloves) and actually play in the rain quite a bit, so it didn’t have a major impact on my play.

I knew the day was going to be a grind when I opened with a triple. I parred 2 and 3 before a bad three putt on 4 lead to a bogey, but pars on 5 – 9 gave me a certain sense of comfort. A 39 on the front, which could have easily been a 36, one bad swing and one poor putt.

The back 9 was not an easy start, I needed an 8 footer to save par on the par 5 10th, and then 3 putted 11 for a bogey. Pars on 12, 13 and 14 had me feeling good, knowing that 15 is a good birdie opportunity. Unfortunately, a missed green and a bad chip at 15 lead to a bogey. More pars on 16 and 17, but a blocked tee shot on 18, followed by an overly aggressive second shot lead to a finishing bogey and a 3 over 40 on the back. I didn’t leave the 18th green happy, but I knew that an opening day 79¬†would have me in contention. Turned out I was one off the lead, all alone in 2nd.

Day 2 turned out to be a much nicer day, not quite sunny, but no rain.My round also started on a much better note, going 1 over through 4. I hit one of the worst shots of my season on the par 3 5th, which lead to a double. After a bogey on 6, I three putted 7 for another bogey. I did manage to get it back together with pars on 8 and 9 for a 5 over 40 on the front. Through 9 I was 4 off the lead, my competitor was playing well and it didn’t look like he had any plans to let me back in the Game. Also, quietly, someone else was right on my coat tales. He was 4 back of me after Day 1, but had gained most of that back through 9 of Day 2.

I once again scrambled to make par on 10 and wasn’t so lucky on 11, making a double from the fairway. I am now 5 back with 7 to play. I played the next 5 holes 2 under and coming to the 17th tee I was tied for the day, 1 back overall. I figured 2 pars would likely force a playoff. I was wrong, but never gave myself a chance, going bogey, bogey finish to my competitors par, par. A second 79,¬†for a two day total of 158 wasn’t good enough to win, I finished alone in 2nd.

I was happy for Mark (he has finished second twice in the last 4 years), but still disappointed in my play, or more specifically the lack of consistency in my play. Looking back, the opening triple, a couple of three putts and 2 really bad swings (5th and 11th holes of Day 2) cost me the title, but that’s the way golf goes sometimes.

I have one last tournament to finish off the season, Sept 13 – 15 I will be in Brockville for the BCC Open at Brockville Country Club, the third leg of the BMG Cup Series.

I have a couple of posts coming up about some destination rounds I have played the past couple of weeks, Taboo Resort in Muskoka, Royal Montreal in Montreal, QC, St.Boniface in Winnipeg, MB, Heritage Pointe in Calgary, AB and Club de Golf Royal Charbourg in Quebec City, QC (Yes I have been on the road a lot this past month).

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Aaron

    Love the way you fought back and gave yourself a chance to win! Most players would crumble long before then. Good luck at Brockville! We are rooting for you!

    Cheers
    Jim

Leave a Reply

