OVGA City & District Recap

Following a day 2 comeback at the Flagstick Open on the 27th, I was back on course Monday the 28th for round 1 of the Ottawa Valley Golf Association (OVGA) City and District Championships.

It had been a couple of years since I last played in the City and District (both previous times were in B Class), so was happy to throw my hat back in the ring and see where I stood against some of the best in the region. The event consisted of 3 rounds at 3 different courses, with a cut after round 2. The prize for making it to round 3 was that you got play the Rideau View, a private club in Manotick, ON. Round 1 would be played at Outaouais in Rockland, ON and round 2 at eQuinelle in Kemptville, ON.

Outaouais is a really nice golf course, close to home for me (about 20 min from my house) and for some reason I never play well there. They use 3 interchangeable 9s, and for the event we played the east course (newest 9 and easiest in my opinion) and the west course (hardest 9 in my opinion).

Considering my apprehensions about my ability to play well at the course I actually played ok, but my putting once again killed me. I went out in 39 with 2 3 putts. I started to back 9 by throwing a dart to 3 feet on the short par 4 10th (1 west), but missed my putt. I then proceeded to double 11 and 13 before straightening out the ship with par on 14 and birdie on 15 and par on 16. I came to the 17th, a short par 3 thinking two pars and I am home with a 79, my best round at Outaouais to date. Instead my poor putting kicked in and I missed a short par putts on 17 and 18 for an 81. While my putting sucked, I was content with my score. After day 1 I was sitting middle of the pack.

After Monday’s round I went out and purchased a new putter, and a new grip (super stroke 2.0) for my current putter. I would fiddle with both in advance of Tuesday round, ultimately sticking with my current putter.

Round 2 of the City and District took me back to eQuinelle. After shooting a 75 there on Sunday I was pretty confident going into the round. That confidence vanished when I left the 4th green 9 over par. I shot a season worst 49 on the front, the only bright spot being I birdied 9 to brake 50. I made another double on 10 and wasn’t sure if I was going to break 100. Pars on 11, 12, 13 and 14 saved some face. I bogey’d 15, before parring in for an 88 (49/39). It wasn’t my finest round of golf, but I was happy I stuck with it and put up a decent back 9.

Needless to say I didn’t make the cut, but I will be back next year to give it another go.

That’s it for competitive golf until my Club Champs Aug 16-17. I did have some noteworthy rounds this past weekend and coming up, which will be subjects of future posts

  • Aug 4 – Tarandowah in Avon, ON
  • Aug 4 – Taboo Resort in Gravenhurst ON (yes played both in same day, lots of driving)
  • Aug 11 – Royal Montreal

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

