2014 Flagstick Open

equinelle_fs_open1After some disappointing play at the 36 hole Slammer Tour event at Black Bear Ridge, I wasn’t overly comfortable with my game coming into the Flagstick Open. Based on my handicap of 5.4 I was placed in  C Flight for the event, an event I finished 2nd in last summer after blowing a 6 stroke lead after round 1. I knew I could play well on the course (eQuinelle), but it was a matter of playing with confidence, especially on the greens.

I had heard the night before the greens were rolling quick, like a 12 on the stimpmeter quick, and they didn’t disappoint in round 1. After 3 putting 1, 2 and 4 I knew my day was going to be a grind and grind I did. With only 2 pars on the front 9 I made the turn at 44. I missed a short par putt on 10 and hit a ball OB on 11, I was 10 over through 11 holes and things were looking bleak. I hit greens on 12, 13 and 14 and made pars, things were looking up. I made tough up and downs on 15 and 16, before 2 putt pars on 17 and 18. I was in the club house with an 82, and happy it was only an 82. I was sure my score would leave me far behind the leader heading into day 2.

To my surprise I was only 4 back after round 1. I was mid pack in flight C, a low round might just be enough. I started well with pars on the first 3. I faltered on 4 after a poor second shot and made bogey. Routine pars on 5 and 6, but the dreaded 3 putt reared its head on 7 and I made bogey. I followed that with a dart on the par 3 8th, but couldn’t convert the put (a sign of things to come). I got a bit unlucky on 9 and made bogey, making the turn at 3 over 39. At this point I figured I likely moved up a couple of spots, but really wasn’t doing much to catch the leader. I parred 10, birdied 11 (ok things are getting interesting), but bogeyed 12 and 13 (missed a 5 footer for par on 13). A birdie on 14 and I was even for the back 9, 3 over for the day. I hit a great approach on 15, missed my putt, made par. 16, a tough par 3, I was long and got very lucky with a flop shot that just caught the rough slowing it down enough to settle inside 5 feet, made my par. I was 3 over with 2 to play. I hit my approach to 5 feet on 17, missed my putt. I hit my approach to 5 feet on 18, missed my putt. Just like that I shoot 75, with 3 missed make-able birdies and a missed 5 footer for par on the back 9. As the scores come in I climb the leaderboard until I am the club house leader with only the final group (3 some) on the course.  If the leader shoots 79 we are heading to a playoff, if he shoots over 79, I win. He shot 76. Another runner up for me in the Flagstick Open.

nikemethodcore5iI promptly traded in my prize to GolfTown and picked up a new putter grip (going to try the superstroke) and new putter (Nike Method Core 5i). I know where my game requires work.

 

 

As always the folks at Flagstick Golf Magazine put on a great event and the staff the at eQuinelle had the course in perfect condition. We are really spoiled in the region to have the BMG Cup Series.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have much time to enjoy my finish, or work on my putting as the next day was round 1 of the OVGA City and District Championships at Outaouais, a course I never play well on…

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Aaron

    Wow, that was exciting! Great second day! I feel for your putting woes…tomorrow you could be a rock star! Good luck in your next event!

    Cheers
    Jim

Leave a Reply

