OVGA Intersectional Try-Outs

Following my respectable finish at the Flagstick Shootout I took a few days off from the golf course and spent it on the squash court. During the winter months I play about 3 games a week which keep me in good shape, but having been off court for 1 month 3 games last week took a lot out of me. Additionally, I seemed to have injured my wrist at some point, although I am not sure if that is from squash or golf, either way it seems to be relatively minor and I am hoping it will pass soon.

On Thursday last week I played in a Slammer Tour event at Outaouais, a course I have struggled at in the past (literally every time I tee it up there I suck). The round started surprisingly well and continued well (+1) until back to back doubles on the 7th and 8th. I just couldn’t get anything going on the back 9 and after a number of missed opportunities did make birdie on 18 to shoot a 10 over 82. For my matches I ended with 2 wins and a tie. My record for the year on Slammer Tour is now 12 wins 0 losses and a 1 tie.

Saturday was the first round of the Metcalfe Golf OVGA Intersectional Try-Outs. If successful 2014 would be my 7th straight year on the Metcalfe Team. I have traditionally played well in both the try-outs and the event itself so I was looking forward to using the try-outs as a confidence booster for my game.

Unfortunately, like Thursday round at Outaouais I just wasn’t able to put a full round together. I came to the 13th hole a 2 over par and some how managed to bogey the next 4 holes before finishing par par to shoot 78 and put up 30 points towards my score (we use stableford best 2 of 3 rounds to determine team). While I played well enough to put up a decent score I wasn’t overly happy with my round.

Monday afternoon was round 2 for me. Some guys had played Sunday as well.  With a 4pm tee-off I was expecting the groups to move quickly to get our rounds in before dark, but I would be disappointed in that regard as I holed my final putt on 18 in the dark at almost 9pm. I went out in 2 over 37 and came off the 14th hole at 4 over, there is where things went downhill. As darkness started to fall and thunder loomed in the near distance I started to focus less on my golf game and more on whether or not I would actually get to finish the round, I would hit the par 5 15th in 2 only to 3 putt for par. On 16 I hit way too much club into the green and to make a great shot to just get on the green and then a good 2 putt for bogey. On 17 I had to take an unplayable, but managed to get up and down for bogey and standing in the dark on the par 5 18th tee I snap hooked my drive into a lateral hazard and then 3 putted for a double.  My round went from decent to awful in a hurry and I  closed with 28 points (score of 80).

While I wasn’t happy with either round I am confident it will be enough to secure a spot on the team, so there is that silver lining. In my 7 years at Metcalfe 58 points has always been enough to make the team.

Following Monday’s round I decided to take the rest of the week off from golf, my mind and wrist needed the break. This weekend I will play some non competitive rounds hoping to build some confidence in my game.

As for my final try-out round, I am choosing to forgo it in order to play in a Slammer Tour event at Greyhawk next Monday.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

 

Leave a Reply

