Binghamton Golf Trip – Conklin Players Club

Last week (April 22 – 25) I headed down to Binghamton, NY with a group of guys for 4 days of golf on some pretty nice courses. While the weather was questionable, the conditions not top notch and my golf game beyond rusty, it was still a great trip that I am glad to have been part of.

#10 Conklin

We started the adventure at Conklin Players Club in Conklin, NY. I had heard quite a bit about the course, but this was my first time actually playing it. The par 72 6128 yard (from the whites, no blue tees set up the day we were there) course uses water, elevation and some well placed bunkers to challenge you, almost dare you at times. The best feature of the course, in my opinion, was it made you think off every tee. As I am not very long off the tee I normally hit driver off every hole, but at Conklin I hit more fairway woods off tees than I can remember.

The day we played it had rained in the morning, but was clearing up by the time we tee’d off. The fairways were in great shape and half of the greens were in decent shape, about half the greens were in pretty rough shape, more yellow than green.

My game was actually decent, out in 42, home in 39 for a 81. We played the back 9 first, so technically I was out in 39, home in 42. If it wasn’t for doubles on 7 and 8 (16 and 17 for me) I would have broke 80.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The next day we woke to rain and cold, and played Hiawatha Links, which I will recap tomorrow.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

