2014 Golf Season begins

After a long winter I finally kicked off the 2014 golf season on April 18th at Prescott Golf Club for a Slammer Tour event.

Considering how long and cold the winter was the course was actually in ok condition, with the greens in great shape and rolling well. I had never played the course before, but liked the layout and the greens. For a par 70 course it actually plays quite long from the blue tees (6200). I am not sure how it stacks up with some of the area courses because I have no clue what peak season conditions are like.

IMG_0935

While I hadn’t had much practice beforehand my game seemed to be in decent shape, although chipping and putting took a few holes to feel somewhat natural.

Without doing anything spectacular I managed to card a 39 on the front. The back 9 was going not bad as well until 14. I played the final 5 holes in 7 over and finished with an 82. I won all three of my Slammer Tour matches and also picked up closest to the pin on 13 hitting a 5 iron to 10 feet.

Following Easter weekend in Montreal (no golf) I packed my bags and headed to Binghamton, NY for 4 days of golf with some buddies from Metcalfe Golf. I will be writing about each round of the trip in the coming days.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

