New Toys, Broken Toys, Replacement Toys

The past month in the world of Brewcee’s golf equipment has seen some highs and lows. Let’s start with the highs.

Before departing on my month long work trip I played in the Flagstick Open at eQuinelle and finished 2nd in C Flight (wrote about it here). That 2nd place won me a Nike Covert 3 wood, that I didn’t really need (or so I thought, hindsight is a bitch).

Nike-VR_S-Covert-Fairway-Woods-Topper_640

Upon my return to Ottawa in late August I traded in my winnings and got a Bushnell Tour V3 rangefinder, that also came with a $50 Golftown gift card.

Bushnell Tour v3

The next day I headed off to the golf course and hadn’t yet taken my clubs out of the travel case, only to find that my driver (Nike VR Pro) shaft had snapped at the hosel. With the club being a couple of years old and figuring in that it would cost as much to put a new shaft in as buy a new driver, it was back to Golftown I went.

After hitting a dozen or so drivers (Nike VRS, Nike Covert, Taylormade R11, Tayloremade SLDR, Callaway Hot X and Taylormade RBZ Stage 2) I decided on the Taylormade RBZ 2. With the GolfTown trade in promotion, plus the $50 gift card from the Rangefinder and the fact it was on sale, I was able to walk out of the store with the club for a little over $100. I have been hitting it for a week or so now and I like it, but am struggling a bit with consistency.

golf store - golf clubs - golf balls - apparel - golf carts - Golf Town Canada's largest golf store

Fast forward to last weekend, and (hindsight being a bitch) I snapped my Nike VR Pro 4 wood shaft in the exact same spot as the driver. I suspect that it was cracked in transit and held on for a couple more rounds before breaking.

While I would have loved to head back to GolfTown, the expense wasn’t in the cards, so instead headed to Play it Again sports and picked up an old Taylormade 200 Steel 4 wood for $15.

product_130162

Needless to say it has been an interesting couple of weeks for my golf bag.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

