West Coast Swing Part 1

It has been a month or so since my last post, a busy month, a very busy month in Sherbrooke, QC at the 2013 Canada Games. Now, I am starting to get back into my normal routine, including golf, and blogging about golf.

Following my work commitments in Sherbrooke Mary and I headed out west to Vancouver and Whistler for some R&R. During the trip we managed to play two rounds of golf, one in Vancouver at Mayfair Lakes Golf and Country Club and one in Squamish at Squamish Valley Golf Club.

Our first round was a sunny morning round at the water laden Mayfair Lakes Golf and Country Club. The public course, only minutes from the Vancouver Airport in Richmond featured water on 13 holes, was well manicured and offered a variety of holes on the 18 hole layout. A prime time rate of $79 seemed a little steep, but the morning rate of $55 was well worth it (I suspect the economy of golf in Vancouver is quite a bit different than Ottawa, but still).

SAM_0330
The club house and patio at Mayfair Lakes
The 18th at Mayfair Lakes
The 18th at Mayfair Lakes
SAM_0340
15th at Mayfair Lakes
SAM_0320
6th at Mayfair Lakes
SAM_0314
1st at Mayfair Lakes

As it was my first round in 3 weeks at a course I had never played before, I had low expectations of my play, but was extremely happy to hit the ball solid all day, make a few birdies and walk away with a 75. The score dropped my official Golf Canada handicap down to a 4.6, the lowest it has ever been.

SAM_0323

Highlight of the day was back to back birdies on 10 and 11, low light was a double on 14.

Stay tuned for part 2 of the west coast swing where I recap my round at Squamish Valley Golf Club.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Brewcee

    Nice Pics. 75 after a three week lay off….nice! It is great to play new courses, especially in BC. I look forward to hearing more.

    Cheers
    Jim

Leave a Reply

