2013 Flagstick Open Recap

Wow, this is insanely late. It has been sitting in draft for a couple weeks.

_____________________________________________________________

I am taking a moment away from the Canada Games, to send out a quick recap of the 2013 (inaugural) Flagstick Open at eQuinelle Golf Club.

The Flagstick Open was the second round of the BMG Cup Series, the first event being the Flagstick Shootout at Smugglers Glen in May.

It was a big field with tee times running across 4 division (A,B,C, and D) from 8:30am – 2:30pm. It was also a strong field, as a 6 handicap I was in division C. Players went off from D flight through A flight, essentially the last group was on the 2nd green when my group was on the 18th tee.

I tee’d of Saturday around 11am, we played in threesomes and the pace of place on Saturday was probably the quickest tournament round I have ever played, it turned out to be the best tournament round I ever played as well.

The course was in great shape and the green were rolling fast, really fast, which posed issues when you got the ball above the hole, but the greens were rolling true enough that all you needed was the right line and you could make a lot of putts.

I started well with 4 pars through 4 holes, but took a double on 5. I followed that up with a birdie on 6, and up and down pars on 7, 8 and 9 for a 1 over 37 with 12 putts. My putter stayed hot on the back and I didn’t even need it on 10 where I chipped in for birdie. I made pars on 11 – 14, but a double on 15, a 3 putt bogey on 16. I finished my day with a 8 footer for birdie on 18 and a 2 over 74 with 27 putts.

After round one I was the C flight leader by 2 and there were 5 within 5 strokes of me.

I wasn’t nervous, or trying to be overly conservative, but round 2 didn’t start all that great (understatement). On the first hole I sent my tee shot left, into a water hazard. I proceeded to hit my drop into the water hazard as well and ended up with a 9. I shot +2 in round 1, I was not +5 through 1 hole of round 2. I 3 putted the second hole for a bogey, 3 putted the 3rd hole for bogey and closed out the 4 hole stretch with a 2 putt bogey on 4. I was 8 over through 4 holes. Things turned around after this, I made a solid par on 5, birdied 6, birdied 7,  bogeyed 8, parred 9. A 7 over 43 on the front was a tough pill to swallow. My goal on the back 9 was to play well enough to break 80 for the day, which meant even par on the back. I made pars on 10 through 15, but the 16th got me, a medium length par 3 over water with a tucked pin. I sprayed my tee shot right, chipped on a 2 putted for bogey. I followed that up with a par on 17.

Going to the 18th tee I was able to determine that I was 2 behind who I assumed was the leader, and playing in my group. On 18 we both ended up on the green for birdie, I had a 12 footer, his was more like 20. When he blew his par putt 6 feet by I figured I had a chance to force a playoff. My aggressive putt also ended up 6 feet by and my chance was gone. He drained his par putt I did not.

I finished with a 9 over 81 in round 2 and took home 2nd place in C Flight. Outside of the 9 on the first hole I played well enough to win. I am happy with my performance and even more happy with my ability to battle back after opening with a 9.

Next up is the BCC Open in September at Brockville Country Club. Through 2 events in the BMG Cup series I am sitting in 13th place, out of 137 players who have registered points.

See you at the Turn,

Brewcee

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

