Anderson Links

My dad was in town last weekend and we headed out to Anderson links. I had only played Anderson once before and while it is not a very difficult course, I enjoyed it and was looking forward to seeing it again. An added incentive to go back was the opening of a new 9 last fall.

Despite the poor weather forecast the rain held off for the most part and the overcast kept the crowds away. We were able to play in 3 hours.

Although a little soggy (it rained for 3 straight days before we played) the course was in good shape. We played the East course first, which was the front 9 of the original 18. All 3 9s on the course feature 3 par 3s, 3 par 4s and 3 par 5s. All the par 3s on the East course were pretty much the same length (around 150 from the whites). I wouldn’t call the course boring, but it does get a bit repetitive. The greens were in great shape, rolled at a decent pace and true.

Our back 9 was on the South Course, which is the new 9 and a little dryer than the East was.  The South 9 also offered 3 par 3s, 3 par 4s and 3 par 5s , but seemed to provide a little more variety with some dog legs and risk/reword holes. The 9 was built on a former farmer’s field so didn’t have much tree coverage. The greens of the South course had been recently punched, which made putting a little bumpy.

While I would typically play the back tee’s I played the whites with my Dad on this occasion, which meant some really short par 5s. Even with the short, relatively open course, I didn’t play great, shooting 77 with 36 putts.

SAM_0270
4th Hole of East Course
SAM_0273
4th Hole on East Course
SAM_0274
7th Hole of East Course
SAM_0275
9th Hole of East Course
SAM_0278
5th Hole on South Course (new 9)
SAM_0279
9th Hole at South Course (new 9)
SAM_0276
I have no clue what hole this is, somewhere on the South Course (new 9)

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Titfortat says:

    I played par for 12 of the first 14 holes recently. Unfortunately I went 8 over on the final four. See you on Saturday, hopefully I get paired with you and take your #4 ranking. 😉

    Cheers
    John

    1. aaronrbruce says:

      Lucky for me, you can only take my #5 ranking now thanks to Crenshaw beating chef yesterday, LOL.

  2. Aaron

    Brings back great memories of Ottawa! Although I never played Anderson, I have played a few courses in the area. Mostly Highlands out by the airport! Sounds like you had an awesome time with your dad. Cherish them….they are priceless!

    Cheers
    Jim

Leave a Reply

