2013 Flagstick Shootout Recap

Meant to post this a week ago, but life got in the way. So, some references to days are likely off.

To leave no doubt before I get into this, I didn’t win. You can read all about who did on the Flagstick Golf Magazine website. As stated in last weeks blog, my goals this past weekend were to set a new personal best score for the tournament and finish in the top half of the field. While I didn’t shoot a personal best, I did manage to squeak into the top half of the field (literally on the bubble tied for 35 out of 72).

Overall, the weekend was as enjoyable as it always is. The crew at Flagstick and Smugglers do such a great job with the event, it makes it tough to be too upset about your play for that long. I played ok, not good, but not bad. I went 8383, 166. I beat last years score by a stroke, and missed a person best at the event by 3 strokes.

Without getting into all of the little details here is a summary of the weekend:

  • I struggled on the greens, with 6 three putts on the weekend. Not an excuse, but a migraine set in on the back 9 Saturday making putting difficult, I three putted the last 3 holes on Saturday. I had 33 putts on Saturday and 34 putts on Sunday.
  • I drove the ball really well hitting 62% of fairways both days (which is high for me).
  • Unfortunately, I didn’t turn that into GIR as my two day average was a mere 38%.
  • Last year a couple of mental mistakes really hurt me, I didn’t have those mental breaks this year.
  • The “gift” for the tournament was pretty awesome. The Flagstick guys out did themselves this year, providing Nike luggage, a Nike golf shirt and a Nike hat to each participant.
  • photoI played with 4 great guys over the two days, one of which I had also played with last year. The other 3 were new to me and great guys to spend an afternoon with. Thanks to Dave, Pierre, Dale and Todd for the rounds.
  • Lastly, I drove back to Ottawa between the Saturday and Sunday round so I could watch my wife run the 10k for Ottawa race weekend. I was a little concerned the 2 hour drive would take its toll on my, but honestly I don’t think it had an impact.

With no top 20 finish I didn’t collect an BMG Cup series points, but with the next two events flighted, I am hoping to pick up some points at the Flagstick Open in July and the BCC Open in September. With max handicaps accepted as 18, I am going to assume that a 5 or 6 index is going to end up in B flight, but we shall see.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Aaron

    Sounds like you had a great experience. Putting sounded tough….greens (migraine) must have been a real challenge. Good luck on the next event.

    Cheers
    Jim

Leave a Reply

