New Shoes and 3 Spring Rounds

I am happy to report golf season is now well underway here in Ottawa! My club (Metcalfe Golf) opened on the 23rd and I managed to get my first 18 in on the 27th. I followed that up with my first Slammer Tour event of the season on the 30th and an early morning round today. I also managed to add a new pair of shoes to my collection.

A couple of weekends ago I was wandering around GolfTown and came across this pair of Nike Dunks on the clearance table. While they are a bit on the heavy side, they are pretty comfortable.

IMG_0082

My first round of the year was a quick 18 last Saturday late afternoon. For my first round it wasn’t horrible but I was pretty inconsistent with 4 double bogeys in the round. I ended up with an 84 and don’t remember much about the round.

On Tuesday afternoon I headed over to Gatineau Golf and Country Club to participate in a Slammer Tour event. Without getting into the details as to how the Slammer Tour works, I was matched up against the 1st, 10th and 25th ranked players on Tour, in a match play event ( I was ranked as high as 9th in 2012, but would start 2013 at pretty much the bottom of the rankings). I had an awful start that lasted for 9 holes, shooting +12 (48) on the front 9 with two triple bogeys. I was pretty much out of my matches with the 1st and 10th ranked players, but was still grinding away with the 25th ranked player. While my round and two matches were a write off, I was pretty happy that I was able to get my shit together and play decent on the back 9, coming home for +4 (39), to shoot 87. I played well enough on the back to win my match against the 25th ranked player on 16. As an added bonus, Slammer Tour also runs a skins game and closest to the pin competition at each event and I won 2 closest to the pins on Tuesday.

Eagle putt on 17th at Gatineau, too bad I 3 putted.
Eagle putt on 17th at Gatineau, too bad I 3 putted.

After the disaster of a round on Tuesday I was eager to get back at it, but had to wait until this morning for the opportunity.

I was up bright and early today, teeing off at 6am at Metcalfe Golf. The weather was perfect, about 10 degrees and no wind when I tee’d off, getting warmer as I went. I was able to play as a single in about 2:15 hours. While I enjoy playing early I don’t tend to play well in the early mornings, I am not sure if its because I am tired or what, but it is normally not my best rounds. Today was different. I started with a routine par on 1 a sand save on 2, routine pars on 3 4 and 5. I had a hiccup on 6th, but came back with routine pars on 7 and 8. I had an ugly 3 putt on  for a +2 37. I made a par on 10 and dropped a 15 footer for birdie. I didn’t a solid shot on 12 and dropped a shot, but made pars on 13 and 14. I got lucky off the tee on 15 and followed it up with 2 great shots and made a 5 footer for birdie. I made a great up on down on 16 for par, but brutal chip on 17th and dropped a shot. I went onto 18 +2 for the day. Unfortunately I hit my drive on 18 into the hazard, but was able to grind out a bogey for a +3 75. I hit 64% of fairways and 67% of greens my full scorecard can be found here: http://www.oobgolf.com/golfers/score.php?id=2478363

I will likely get out again tomorrow afternoon, hopefully I can carry today’s momentum into that round.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Brewcee

    Nice! I miss Ottawa. I used to play at Highlands all the time. North Bay Courses are open now aswell. Thank goodness. See you on the links!

    Cheers
    JIm

Leave a Reply

