2013 Golf Pool

With the 2013 PGA Tour kicking off this past weekend (kinda) and my golf pool kicking off at the end of the month I thought the time was right to get my picks together.

The pool format can be found here, but it is basically a money pool. You get 25 million to spend on 10 golfers, those are your 10 for the year (no trades), most money won at end of the year is the winner.

Last year I built a team around the concept of those who didn’t miss many cuts, thinking that someone playing lots and making lots of cuts would make more money than someone who played little or missed lots of cuts. My thinking worked to an extent, but I ended up near the bottom of the pool, mainly because I had 3 lame ducks in Casey (injured), Day (injury and new baby) and Villegas (sucked). I also failed to pick any good lower ranked guys, both Barnes and Streelman made less money on 2012 then they did in 2011. On the bright side Mahan, Furyk, Johnson and Woods had better years than in 2011. Kuchar was not as good as he was in 2011, but he still made just under 4 million, so no complaints there.

I am taking a similar approach in 2013, focusing on guys that play a lot and play well more than they play like crap. I considered the approach of taking guys like Woods and or McIlroy who will likely play less in 2012 than the average guy, but are more likely win big money in the majors. In the end I feel like my approach is a safer bet.

My guys for 2013 are:

  • Hunter Mahan
  • Matt Kuchar
  • Jim Furyk
  • Louis Oosthuizen
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Bill Haas
  • Seung-Yul Noh
  • Jason Day
  • Martin Kaymer
  • Nicolas Colsaerts

I am taking a bit of a gamble on some of the guys near the bottom, but I a hoping Day has a better year than last (how could he not), and I am looking for Kaymer & Colsaerts to make a impact considering they were so cheap and will be playing full time on PGA tour in 2013.

I will be posting my progress throughout the 2013 PGA Tour season on my blog, on the Golf Pool page here.

The Waste Management Phoenix Open will be the first event that counts in the pool.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

Leave a Reply

