Club Championships Recap

Last weekend (Aug 11 & 12) Metcalfe Golf held its annual Club Championships. While I was playing a lot leading up to the championship I wasn’t playing well, so I wasn’t overly optimistic about my chances. I had won the championship in 2010, but that was before the 2 handicap Willy Walker joined the club. Willy won handily in 2011 and was the clear favorite in 2012. My goal for the weekend was rather modest, 2 rounds under 82 would leave me content.

On Saturday the day started as expected, a bogey on 1, a pull into the trees on 2 led to a double and I was 3 over after 2. I made a routine par on 3, followed by a nice up and down on 4 and a 2 putt par on 5. I was 3 over after 5 and feeling pretty good. I had a 5 footer for birdie on 6 and a 10 footer for birdie on 7, I barely missed both. I failed to get up and down on 8 and made a bogey, but came back and parred 9 for a 39. I was tied with Willy after 9. The back 9 didn’t start very well, I pulled my drive into the trees and had to take an unplayable which lead to a bogey. I made another bogey on 11, but followed it up with a 2 putt par on 12. I made routine pars on 13, 14 and 15 and was heading to 16 6 over for the day, not bad considering I hadn’t had a round in the 70s for about 2 months. I hit a great drive on 16 and made an easy par. I had a bit of a scare on 17 after missing the green and hitting a poor chip, but made a 20 footer on for par. I finished the day with a 2 putt par on 18 and a round of 78, only problem was Willy shot even on the back for a 75 and a 3 shot lead.

I went into Sunday feeling really good, even though I knew anything could happen with my game from day to day. A couldn’t have asked for a better start going birdie, par, bogey, par to be even through 4. The 5th was my only real blemish on the day, finding a hazard that is not even in play and taking a triple. I played the remaining 4 holes par, birdie, par, par to shoot a 2 over 37 on the front. I had a crazy par on 8, after hitting way right off the tee, followed by a near shank, leaving me 125 out for my 3rd. I hit to 3 feet and made the putt for par. The bad news was, as good as I playing Willy also went out in 37 and maintained his 3 shot lead. The back 9 was a little less up and down, but had a few memorable moments. On 11 I pushed my drive onto the cart path with trees on the right and left. I had no choice but to hit from the path and hit a shot as good as my 3rd on 8, hitting off the cart path, over a group of trees to 20 feet. I made straight forward par on 12, but got a little too aggressive on 13 flying my tee shot over the green and making a bogey. I made pars on 14 and 15 and came to the 16th tee 3 over for the day, 1 back on  Willy for the day and 3 back overall. 16 didn’t go as well with a bad drive and a back recovery, I was lucky to get out with a bogey. Willy also made bogey and we were still tied for the day. I made a solid chip on 17 to save par and with Willy’s bogey we were tied for the day. I made a solid par on 18 to finish my day, as did Willy. A final round 76 was about as good as it gets for me and even though I lost by 3 shots I was happy with my performance.

On top of a shooting a 2 round tournament personal best 154 I also picked up overall club low net champion.

Leave a Reply

