Club Championships Week

It seems like a Championships kinda week, doesn’t it? The Olympics are on, which are pretty much a world championships across a variety of sports (GO CANADA), specific to golf, the PGA Championship kicks off on Thursday at the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island (Go TIGER). Nationally, the Canada Men’s Amateur Golf Championships are in Ottawa Today (Tuesday) through Friday at Camelot and Outaouais. On a more personally note, this coming weekend is the Club Championships at my home club Metcalfe Golf and Country Club. 

In 2010 I won the Club Championship. Granted there was only a field of 4 players, and my total score was an unimpressive 165 (78, 87), but it was a win none the less. In 2011, I did not win, didn’t even come close after a opening round 86. I did however manage a 75 in day 2 for a total of 161. Unfortunately, that left me in 3rd out of 8.

2012 has not been a great year for me on the golf course and the last few weeks have been some of the most frustrating of the last couple of years. While I feel I am just about there and have had glimmers of good play, I am making way too many mistakes, especially with the driver. Without the pressure of being defending champion I am hoping I can just go out and put 2 decent rounds together and see what happens. 

While I regularly play a lot of golf, my preparations this week will be to try and get some repetitions in, especially with the driver and around the greens. If I can consistently find the fairway off the tee I am confident I can shoot in the 70s, and if I can’t, I am going to have to scramble really well to break the 80 mark.

On Saturday I shot a disappointing 77 on the 9 hole course (around twice, 37, 40). The course is rather easy and there is no way I should be any higher than a 75 for 18 holes.

On Sunday I was lucky enough to not have to work all day at the golf course due to the weather and was able to sneak out for 18 holes just before some heavy rain hit. After a blah front 9 40, I found some consistency in my ball striking and went around the back 9 in 1 under 36. 76 was my best round in a month and had me thinking I found what was missing (scorecard).

This morning I headed over to the course for a quick 18 before work (5:30am tee off) and apparently forgot everything I know about the  game. 6 double bogey’s and 5 penalty strokes (4 from tee shots) later I am home with a crappy 85. I did have 2 birdies today and putted really well, but it wasn’t enough to undue the my inability to get into play off the tee (scorecard).

I will be back to the course tomorrow, for play and practice, hoping to find some of the lost magic in time for this weekends Club Championships.

See you at the turn,

Brewcee

Leave a Reply

