Slammer Tour – Cedarhill Golf and Country Club

Played in my second Slammer Tour event this Sunday and had the added bonus of getting to play Cedarhill Golf and Country Club for the first time.

The course was not in great shape. Like most courses in the Ottawa area the fairways were hard with lots of dead spots, and the rough was lost. The focus across the region has been on keeping tees and greens alive, not leaving much water left for fairways and rough. The greens were playing extremely soft and slow and looked to have been pounded with water. Hopefully some forecasted rain this week brings them some water to start greening the course back up.Aside from the course conditions they have a nice facility there, having all of the amenities except a driving range. The clubhouse was especially nice.

On the course, my day started off great, but fizzled on the back 9. I was 6 pars and 3 bogeys on the front 9 and had a couple of looks at birdie. On the back 9 I made a few bogey`s but was generally happy with my game until I came to 17 where I made double, followed by a bogey on 18 (scorecard here). I finished with a 9 over 79. I accumulated another 27 points towards the Executive Golf Intersectional Team that will compete in the Kingston Intersectionals. After 2 events I have 54 points and I am not sure if I have any more events planned before the deadline. I doubt 54 points will be enough to make the team, but you never know.

In terms of my matches, for the second event in a row I played someone how had the game of their life, as one of my competitors shot 72. Needless to say I lost that match, but I did manage to win my other 2, one 5 &4 and the other 1up.

Here are some photos from the course:

10th Tee

16th Green

17th Tee

9th Green

3rd Fairway

5th Tee

9th Tee

9th Green

Clubhouse

Leave a Reply

