First 18 Holes of the season

While most courses have been open for a few weeks now I had not managed to get out for a round until this past weekend, although I had played 2 9 hole rounds Easter weekend. I was in St.Thomas to visit the folks this past weekend and got out for a quick 18 with my dad and brother on Saturday morning at Pleasant Valley Golf and CC .

Pleasant Valley is a course I grew up playing and was a member there for one summer near the end of high school. The course isn’t one that leaves a lasting impression (a good one anyways) and has a reputation for having extremely hard fairways and greens come summer. This past weekend I was pleasantly surprised by the conditions, although the bar was set pretty low. The fairways could almost be described as plush and the greens were slightly less hard than I remember, but still don’t really hold any shots.

We paid $50 for golf and cart and played in under 3 hours, so I was willing to forgive the less than perfect conditions for the price and playing time. Also, I played quite well on the front 9, shooting even par 36. The back 9 was a bit of a struggle with a 7 over 40. Considering it was my first 18 holes of the season I was happy with a 7 over 76 on the par 69 course. Full score card here: http://www.oobgolf.com/golfers/score.php?id=1963587

My trip home also allowed me a visit to the happiest place in St.Thomas, Fore Golfers Only. I would say about 90% of all golf clubs I have ever owed have been purchased here, and most have been traded back to them at a later date. On this particular trip I traded in my Nike Dymno Str-8 driver and a Nike VR 52 degree wedge I don’t use, for a newer Nike VR Str-8. I had been struggling to keep the ball down with the 10.5 regular flex Dymno, so I am hoping the 9.5 degree stiff flex (Aldila Voodoo SVR6) VR will do the trick, I was hitting it pretty well on the stores outdoor range, but the true test will be on the course.




Leave a Reply

