Masters Round 1 Recap

I didn’t get to watch as much of the Masters today as I would have liked. I manged to see about 30min of live streaming on TSN from Amen Corner, watching a lot of players not make birdie on 11.

While I don’t have him in my pool I am happy to see Westwood at the top of the leaderboard. I cheered for him in 2010 and have always liked him. And how about Mike Weir! Nice to see him put up a decent round. As for my guys, there was some good news and some bad news.

The good news

  • Z. Johnson and J. Furyk are T10 with rounds of 70.
  • M.Kuchar is T14 with a -1 71
  • T. Woods and H. Mahan didn’t completely implode. Tiger had it down to -2 at one point and Mahan was at -3 early on, but both managed to finish with 72s.
The bad news
  • Paul Casey shoots 76 and Jason Day shoots 75. Both will have their work cut out for them tomorrow if they want to play on the weekend.
They got lucky today with the weather, and looking at the tomorrow’s forecast they should get away with nothing more than a few showers in the morning.
I am playing tomorrow morning and working at the course in the afternoon so will not likely watch much of the tournament tomorrow, but will be following closely on my phone throughout the day. 
Leave a Reply

