Champlain Golf Club

Champlain had a Groupon, I am on Groupon. As such, I purchased a Groupon to play Champlain Golf Club a month or so ago and the other week Mary and I headed over to Gatineau to check it out.

I had never played the course before so was looking forward to finding out what it had to offer. The first thing I noticed was that there are a lot of courses within a stones throw from each other in Gatineau. Gatineau Golf Club, Chateau Cartier Golf Course and Champlain are essentially all in walking distance to each other.

I wasn’t expecting much of Champlain, not sure why, but I wasn’t. I was pleasantly surprised with the course, especially the quality of the greens, which were quick and true, and not too soft or firm. The fairways were nothing special, but didn’t detract from the experience. The layout was solid, with some great par 3’s including the 4th, a 190 yard par 3 that was all carry over a pond to large slightly elevated green.

The course was short, par 70, and not overly hard, but an enjoyable track. The practice area featured a range, putting green and a chipping green. The clubhouse wasn’t anything special.

My game was decent. Considering how poorly I had been playing in September it was nice to hit the ball well and come out with a respectable score. I was 78 with 2 birdies and one double. I should have been better, but that has been the way the month has been going, Score card here: http://www.oobgolf.com/golfers/score.php?id=1778435.

Here are some of the photos from the day

Leave a Reply

