Not as much golf as I would like

It has been a long 10 days since my last post and I haven’t been playing as much golf as I would have liked. With my wife in China for the entire month of August I had figured I would play pretty much every day, but it really hasn’t worked out. For one reason or another I find myself not at the golf course most days. With that said, I am still averaging about 2 games a week this month, which is about the same pace I have been keeping all summer.

Since my disastrous 87 in the first round of the club championships I was on quite a roll lately (follow links for scorecards). 2nd round of club championship was a 76, followed by a 79 (front 9 / back 9), even par 36 for 9 holes, an 82 at Emerald Links, a 76, and a 77. The wheels kind of fell off the bus on Wednesday night when I posted an 84. The bad news is I hit the ball extremely poorly on Wednesday, made very few puts and picked up penalty strokes on the 8th and 16th holes. The good news was, as bad as I played, I managed to salvage an 84.

The next month will be a good month of golf, so I am looking forward to it. Mary comes home Monday from China and then we are off to PEI for 6 days. We are going to stop in Edmundston, NB and play Club de Golf Fraser Edmundston. We were looking for a course to play on the way down that was en route and we stumbled across the course. The price is right and it seems nice. According to the website, the course hosted the 1956 and 2002 Canadian Amateur Championships, and in 2008 received a four star from golf digest. I am excited to see the quality of the course. We also have plans to play the Links of  Crowbush Cove , which I have played before and is right next door to Mary’s families cottage. Lastly, we are playing Glen Afton Golf Club, just outside of Charlottetown, which I have never played before, but looks nice enough.

In addition to our trip out east, we have an annual golf day lined up with family and friends at Metcalfe in mid September, where will will play 27 holes. I have also managed to score some passes to Falcon Ridge Golf Course and Club de Golf Champlain. I have never played either course, so I am looking forward to that.

Lastly, Golf Town’s Annual Clearance sale is on right now. I picked up some nike balls, gloves and a VR V-Rev 56 degree wedge. The wedge was on for $65 from $139. Not sure how much longer it is on for, but there are some great deals if you are in the market for anything golf.

That’s all for now,

@Brewcee

Leave a Reply

