Struggling with Consistency

As previously posted, on June 17 I shot a 71 at Greyhawk, Predator Course, in Ottawa. A personal best, the 71 was the highlight of an otherwise slightly below average first third of my golf season.

Since that spectacular round, I have played 3 rounds, all with one thing in common, ridiculous inconsistency between my front and back 9’s. My last 3 front 9’s have been 39, 38, and 36, for a combined total of 8 over par. My last 3 back 9’s have been 46, 44, 46, for a combined total of 25 over par. My last 3 rounds have been 85, 82, 82. The 82’s I would normally be ok with, but that’s when I shoot 41/41, not 36/46.

I have hit the ball really well as of late, I am hitting a lot of fairways, and driving the ball as good as I ever had. I am hitting about 50% of the greens, which for me is decent. The killer for me is my short game, normally the part of my game that save’s me when my iron play goes off the rail. The last 3 rounds my normal short game shows up for the front 9, but heads to bed when I make the turn. I have had a combined 1 3 putt on the last 3 front 9’s and a combined 4 3 putts on the last 3 back 9’s. I am sure there are a number of factors that come into play causing these extraordinary choke jobs, but the biggest one at this point is a back 9 mental block. It is almost like I make the turn and just expect (and accept) that my round is about to go to shit.

With OVGA intersectionals on July 10th I am looking for ways to combat this mental block and free my game (and my mind) from the back 9 melt down. This search for an answer has lead me (through my wife) to Terry Orlick’s book (text book I guess) “In Pursuit of Excellence, how to win in sport and life through mental training.” Orlick is a professor at the University of Ottawa and has written extensively on the subject and worked with some of the top athletes in a number of sports.

The premise of the book is that excellence is based on several factors including commitment, focused connection, confidence, positive images, mental readiness, distraction control and ongoing learning. I am just starting the book, so don’t have a whole lot to report on, but so far it has given me a couple of things to think about, which will hopefully get me on the right track.

In an attempt to peak for intersectionals I am putting together a fairly rigorous plan for the next 10 days with the aim of  getting my game technically sound, which I hope will build some confidence. Being confident in my swing is always the key for me, especially around the green. The other areas I plan to incorporate into my prep is getting enough rest/sleep and spending some quality time stretching. All this along with continuing to study up on Dr. Orlick’s book, which is more of a long term goal then an immediate prep tool for next weekend.

I also plan to get out and play a new course this weekend, Mary and I plan to play Club de golf Outaouais on  Saturday, and I am playing Hammond for my intersectional practice round on Sunday with the Metcalfe team.

That’s all for now,

@brewcee on twitter

Leave a Reply

