Par 3 Practice at White Sands Golf Course & Practice Centre

A couple of months ago I purchased a Groupon for White Sands Golf Course and Practice Centre, $18 for two rounds and a large bucket of balls, and with ladies league on tonight at Metcalfe, it seemed a perfect time to get out for some practice and make it home in time to watch the hockey game.

Number 3 at White Sands

Mary and I headed over to the course around 5:30 and although it was pretty busy we didn’t have much trouble getting on. White Sands is a 9 hole par 27 course, with a decent mix of longer and mid range par 3s. Each hole  features 3 tee blocks and what is really neat about the set up is they give you the reading from each tee box to the front, middle and back of the green. From the front tee’s no hole is longer than 140 yards. I was really impressed with the course, it was challenging and in great shape. Although the greens had been recently punched, they rolled pretty true.

6th Green at White Sands

As we usually do, Mary and I played a friendly match and I was no competition for her tonight, not winning a hole (she had a stroke a hole), and she closed me out on 7. End the end Mary was 36 and I was 31. I hit the ball well, but didn’t hit many greens (2). What I did do well was get the ball up and down, which I did 4 times, including a sand save on 9, and managed only 13 putts, which I was happy about. The only hole I really messed up was the 223 yard 7th where I shanked my tee shot into the water, and took a double. The highlight of the game was definitely Mary’s birdie on 9.  

With one round and large bucket of balls left on my Groupon I will surely be back in the near future.  

Find of the week: Some good sales on at Golf town this weekend. Nike gloves for $10 (Saturday only), Nike Vapour Speed Balls for $17 (Sunday only), and Nike dry-fit shirts for $29, just to name a few items.

Leave a Reply

