State of My Game Update

It has been a busy couple weeks both on and off the golf course, coming back from Smuggler’s Glen I had to stay sharp for an OVGA intersectional try-out round on the Monday. I took a couple days away from the course after that and was back for the 2nd and 3rd rounds of try-outs this past Saturday and Monday. I pretty much stayed away from the course until this evening when I got out for 9 hole with good friend Brian (you can follow Brian on twitter at @bedey1).

The OVGA intersectionals have been a highlight of my golf season for the past 3 years, and 2011 was no exception, I love the competition, the format and the being part of a team. The first step in the process is always try-outs and my first intersectional try-out round was scheduled for Monday the 30th, the day after a Flagstick Shootout at Smuggler’s Glen where I already played 2 grueling rounds. Add onto that the race from the office to the course to make my team time and I felt less than optimal standing on the 1st tee. The one thing I did have going for me was confidence, I had played well at Smuggler’s and had made the intersectional team the previous 3 years. I ended up playing quite well in round 1, but not spectacular. I shot an 80, which was good for 28 stabbleford points. After 3 rounds of competitive golf in 3 days it was time for a break and I didn’t play any golf until Friday night where I played 10 holes with the wife, Mary.

I had an early round Saturday, 7:30am tee off, that I found out would be even earlier upon my arrival at the course. It turned out that not enough tee times had been blocked off for the try-outs so they had to squeeze the 1st group ahead of some public players, which meant that my tee off turned into 7:15, rather than 7:30. What this all meant for me was that I didn’t get a chance to stretch or warm up and basically walked from my car to the 1st tee, tee’d up my ball and was off. As such, I accumulated 3 double bogey’s in the 1st 4 holes and was quickly stressing that the round was going to be a write off. In the end my short game saved me as I managed to par 5 – 9, and finish the front 9 with 12 points. I went into the back 9 with my confidence restored and for lack of a better word tore it up, highlighted by an eagle on 15 I shot 1 over 38 for 18 points on the back 9 and 30 on the day.

With 2 rounds done I had accumulated 58 points and more or less secured my spot on the team, meaning I would be representing Metcalfe for the 4th year in a row at OVGA intersectionals. I was scheduled for one more try-out round and had considered cancelling it and sticking with my 58 points, but in the end I decided I would play, an afternoon on the golf course is much better than an afternoon at the office.

My goal for the last round was another 30 points to finish with a total of 60, but from early on I realized it was wasn’t going to be my day. 2 doubles and only 11 points on the front 9 made it difficult to mount much on the back 9, although I was happy with going -1 on the final 5 holes. In the end I was 83, with 25 points, not my best performance, but in the end it didn’t really matter.

With everything said and done I finished tied for 1st with 58 points. The final playing order for the event will be determined based on our official RCGA handicaps. The Metcalfe team will play at Hammond Golf and Country Club (@hammondgolfcc on twitter) on July 10th.

I wrapped up this week with 9 holes this evening at Metcalfe. We played the front 9 and I was happy to manage a 38, which is the best front 9 I have had in a couple weeks. I also had a chance to demo the Callaway Upro GPS unit, but it died after 6 holes as it wasn’t fully charged when I took it out. The plan is to get out on the course with the unit for a full 18 holes and take it through it’s paces. Keep an eye for a full review sometime soon.

After a rocky start to the golf season my game looks to be coming into shape nicely. The key for me now is to plan out the next month so my game is peaking for intersectionals. I still feel I have some work to do off the tee, which will be the focus of my off course work over the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

