Masters Weekend!!!

It is that time of the year again, Masters weekend, the unofficial start to golf season for most of Canada. Here in Ottawa it is pretty close to the official start of the golf season, as according to Ottawagolf.com’s spring calendar there will be upwards of 21 courses in the Ottawa area open by Sunday, with 9 courses alone opening this Friday.

Master’s weekend has always been an interesting weekend for me. On one hand I get really excited in anticipation, but on the other hand I rarely watch much of it. I can’t say I normally have something else I have to do, or that I don’t own a TV, or anything like that, it has much more to do with an inability to watch sports on TV for any length of time at all. It is a problem that I have always had, as soon as I start to watch sports on TV, I want to play sports and I get ancy (I don’t think that is really a word). Whether baseball, hockey, golf or whatever, 30min in front of the TV and I primed to hit the ice, links, field, bike path, diamond, you name it. Furthermore, its not really sport on TV I have trouble sitting still for, it is pretty much anything, what can I say I like to keep moving. Ask my wife, I can often be found wondering around the house with a wedge, 7 iron or a hockey stick, eager to be doing something other than watching tv or wondering around the house. Last year, with the nice spring weather, I could actually go play golf, this year my course (Metcalfe) is not slated to open until the 21st, after Masters weekend, although a bucket of balls at the driving range might be in the cards. It could be worse, I remember my University years, where I would spend Masters weekend studying, and I can also recall years where Masters weekend still seemed like dead of winter here in Canada.

This year I am determined to put in some serious couch time on Saturday and Sunday and maybe even a little on Thursday and Friday and watch the Masters, it is going to be tough, but I think I have what it takes.

As for who I think will win, I have no clue, but I will bet that it is not someone who is leading after today or tomorrow (even if its Tiger).

Happy Masters Weekend!

Leave a Reply

