2011 Objectives and Schedule

As the snow melts, temperatures warm up (can’t be much colder than last week) and tournament schedules get finalized it is that time of the year again where I sit down and set some goals for the upcoming season and have a look at a potential tournament schedule.

With the wedding last year the competitive golf season was pretty much a write off, although I did end up playing OVGA intersectionals for Metcalfe and for the most part played well all season. I took 6 points at intersectionals playing in the 5th spot (in 3 years I have taken 6 points in 2008, 0 points in 2009, and 6 points in 2010) and whittled my handicap index down to 6.9.

The things I really want to work on are my up and down average and my scoring average, that, although I carry a 6.9 index, sits above 80. More practice will help both of these areas.

My Goals/Objectives for the 2011 season are:

1. Practice more (especially around the greens)
2. Lower RCGA Handicap index to 6.0
3. Defend as 2010 Club Champion
4. Take at least 4 points at OVGA intersectionals.
5. Make Cut at OVGA Men’s A Class City and District*
6. Finish Top 5 in B Flight at Flagstick Shootout*

* Objectives 5 and 6 will depend on a couple factors, neither tournament has guaranteed entry so first I have to get in. For the OVGA Men’s A Class I also have to find the time to take off from work. Taking so much vacation last year with the wedding hasn’t left me with much this year. I have already had to drop out of the Citizen Amateur due to work, so the A Class may also fall by the side for 2011. For the Shootout, they determine the flights after all entires have been received. At a 6.9 index I will likely be middle of the pack index wise in the B flight, but who knows at this point.

With that, my potential 2011 Schedule is looking like:

May 28 – 29: Flagstick Shootout – Smugglers Glen 
May 30, June 4/5, June 6: Metcalfe Men’s Intersectional Team Qualifying
July 10: OVGA Men’s Intersectionals – Division I at Hammond
Aug 6 – 7: Metcalfe Club Championships
Aug 29 – 31: OVGA Men’s A Class City and District Championships – Kanata, Renfrew, Ottawa Hunt Club
Sept 19 – OVGA Tournament of Champions (if I qualify as Metcalfe Club Champ) – Cedarhill GC

Leave a Reply

