A Couple Weeks of up and down golf Part 1 – PEI

A times over the past 3 weeks I felt like I had it all together and my game was shaping up into something I knew it could be. At other times I felt like I had completely lost it and was once again feeling like a weekend hacker.

Let’s start with my trip to PEI. We left after work on Friday the 23th and drive through the night stoping only for gas outside of Quebec City and Fredricton. We arrived at the Cottage (two doors down from Crowbush) around 9am Saturday morning, we made great time (about 14 hours). Side note, the moose in NB must be huge, look at this sign

The week was a great week, very relaxing. The golf was also pretty good. I played 2 rounds and 1 9 hole round at a little course called Peak Tees. I would provide a link but it doesn’t have a website. We played Peaks with a large group from Mary’s family on the Tuesday, it was our first round of the week. By about hole 5 I was ready to call it a career and take up lawn bowling. This little par 32 course was kicking the absolute crap out of me and in the end I shot 39. Needless to say it was the low point of golf on the Island.

On Thursday morning, Mary, her dad and her friend Janna went and played Avondale Golf Course, which is about 25 min west of Charlottetown. The course is very interesting with half the holes being of a links style course and the other half being cut out of the trees. The par 72 course plays 6520 from the blue tees. The greens are quite quick and the roll is true. The rough was also pretty nasty. My day started well and I played well for most of the round. A bit of a brain fart on the back 9 lead to a 43, that coupled with a 40 on the front gave me an 83. A couple of photos from the round:

On Saturday, Mary, her Dad and I got up bright and early (left the cottage just after 6:00am) and travalled 30min west of Morell to play Stanhope Golf and Country Club. The course plays as a par 72 and measures around 6700 yards from the back tees. The course is generally pretty flat and makes its mark with long par 4s and very tough greens. The greens were not overly fast, but were hard (not very accommodating to receiving wedge shots) and very undulating. These two factors made it a tough course, that was otherwise pretty open and forgiving. There were some very scenic holes which added to the experience of playing in PEI. I played well and shot an 81. A couple of photos from the round:

We returned from PEI on Sunday the 1st with a stop in Quebec City for half a day, a great trip and I can’t wait to go back.

Once back in Ottawa preparations for the club championships were underway, only one problem, lots of rain in the forecast. More on that in part two of this post, which I will post tomorrow.

Aaron

Leave a Reply

