Hole by Hole Intersectionals


The 2010 Ottawa Valley Golf Association Men’s Intersectionals finally happened on Sunday. As you will recall I barely made the team back at the beginning of June and have been preping my game since trying to get ready (I have been on the team all 3 years I have been at Metcalfe). In a surprise turn of events I actually started to play pretty consistent the week leading up to the event, which either meant I was finally getting my game together or I was setting myself for a major let down on Intersectionals day. Some highlights leading up to the event included a new putting grip, which has helped gauge my distance better, but has left me a little vulnerable on short putts as my wrist tends to break through impact. I managed to shoot a 77 at Casselview from the tips, a 37 on the Metcalfe 9 and a couple of 38’s on the Metcalfe 9 and a 40 on the front 9 at Mont Cascades, the course we would be playing intersectionals at. Needless to say I was feeling pretty good going into Sunday.

A little bit about the course. Mont Cascades, as its name suggests sits in the “mountains”, well actually in the Gatineau Hills, just north of Gatineau, QC. The course plays 6200 yards, par 70 with a rating of 68.9 and a slope of 118 from the back tees. From my experience the hardest part of the course is the greens. Some were quick, some were slow, all were hard, so hitting anything close meant landing short and rolling it up.

I arrived to Mont Cascades with my Caddy (my fiance Mary – is she my fiance first or my caddy first?) around 10:30am on Sunday and had a quick meeting with my fellow Metcalfe golfers before getting in a warm up and watching the first golfers tee off. The format for intersectionals is each player plays 3 similtaneous matches (match play) against the other 3 golfers in their group. Winning a match gets you 2 points, a tie gets you 1 and a lose 0. Each club adds up their points and the club with the most at the end of the day moves up a division, the club in second hosts next year, the club in 3rd stays put and the club in 4th is relagated a division down (Metcalfe won Division I in 2008, finished last in Division H in 2009, so is back in Division I for 2010). Joining Metcalfe at Mont Cascades was the host (Mont Cascades), Copperdale Golf Club, and Hammond Golf and Country Club. Each team consists of 10 golfers and 2 alternates, with the playing order being the 2 alternates followed by highest handicap down to lowest handicap. With a handicap of 9.1 (9.1 at the time the team registered, 8.0 at time of event)I was playing in the 5th spot for Metcalfe, so would be the 8th golfer to tee off. Being one of the later golfers meant I had a bit of a weight before teeing off but the time seemed to fly by and before I knew it I was on the tee, here’s how my round went;

Hole 1: 331 yard par 4 straight away, elevated green and out of bounds on the right. I hit a 3 wood down the left hand side to about 80 yards, hit a sandwedge on, 2 putted for par. Both Mont Cascades and Copperdale also made par, Hammond made bogey, I was 1 up on Hammond, all even with Mont Cascades and Copperdale.

Hole 2: 354 yard par 4, with a pond on the left and OB on the right. In my practice round I hit driver over the pond, this time I hit a 3 hybrid thin, but right to the 150 stake. I hit an 8 iron to the pin, it bounced and rolled off the back. I chipped on and 2 putted for my bogey. Mont Cascades and Copperdale also made bogeys and Hammond made a par, all 3 matches were event.

Hole 3: 332 yard par 4 uphill, bunker down right hand side, OB right of bunker. I hit a great drive down left hand side, hit sandwedge a bit short and got caught up on the fringe, chipped to a foot, tapped in for par. Copperdale also made par, Mont Cascades X’d out and Hammond made bogey. 1 up on Mont Cascades and Hammond, even with Copperdale.

Hole 4: 210 yard par 3. I hit a 3 hybrid greenside, chipped up to a foot and tapped in for par. Copperdale made a 10 footer for par, while Mont Cascades and Hammond made bogey’s. 2 up on Mont Cascade and Hammond, even with Copperdale.

Hole 5: 422 yard par 4 with an outgrowth of forest about 150 yards off the tee (either have to lay up or hit a draw). I hit a great drive around the corner, leaving me with 150 yards in. My 8 iron landed perfectly in front of the green (thinking it would roll up) and took an awful bounce right into the rough. I hit a piss poor chip and 3 putted for a 6. I lost to everyone that hole and was left 1 up on Mont Cascades and Hammond and 1 down to Copperdale.

Hole 6: 365 yard par 4 with pond on left and right. Being last to hit I was able to see what everyone else would do. Copperdale hit into the left rough behind a tree, while both Mont Cascades and Hammond shanked their balls into the long rough a mere 50 yards off the tee. I hit a perfect drive down the middle leaving me with 100 yards in. Coperdale found his ball, but Hammond and Mont Cascade were 3 off the tee. Copperdale chipped out and then hit his 3rd into the pond. I hit mine to 30 feet and 2 putted for par. 2 up on Mont Cascade and Hammond, even with Copperdale.

Hole 7: 580 yard par 5, pretty wide open off the tee, but very narrow on approach. I hit a drive down the middle, followed by a hybrid to 100 yards. My wedge in took a large bounce left off the front of the green and left me chipping in the left rough. I hit a poor chip, but managed to sink a 20 footer for par. Everyone else bogeyed. 3 up on Mont Cascade and Hammond, 1 up on Copperdale.

Hole 8: 179 yard par 3. My notes said to hit left and everything went right at the green. I hit a 5 iron to back left of green, chipped from the fringe and 2 putted for bogey. Mont cascade did exactly the same thing I did. Copperdale and Hammond right to the right side of the green (where the flag was) and managed to hold. They both made par. 2 up on Hammond, 3 up on Mont Cascade and even with Copperdale.

Hole 9: 361 yard par 4 with OB on right and lateral hazard on left. Again I hit a great drive. This time I managed to hit the green and 2 putt for par. Hammond and Mont Cascade also made par while Copperdale made a bogey. After the front 9 I was 2 up on Hammond, 3 up on Mont Cascade and 1 up on Copperdale. I also managed to shoot a 39 (par 35).

Hole 10: 163 yard par 3 with bunker right in front. I hit an 8 iron that ended up as a fried egg in the bunker. I blasted out and 2 putted for bogey. Hammond and Copperdale made pars and Mont Cascade made bogey as well. 1 up on Hammond, 3 up on Mont Cascade and even with Copperdale.

Hole 11: 380 yard par 4, dog leg right. I hit my best drive of the day, leaving me with 100 yards in. I hit a wedge to 3 feet and made birdie. I am not sure what everyone else did, but it didn’t matter. 2 up on Hammond, 4 up on Mont Cascade and 1 up on Copperdale.

Hole 12: 386 yard par 4, severe dog lef left. By far the dumbest golf hole ever. The dog leg is at 100 yards, so you have to hit a short iron off the tee and then a long iron/hybrid into the green. I hit out to the 200 yard mark, hit a 4 iron short, chipped long and 2 putted for bogey. Luckily everyone else made bogey and matches stayed the same.

Hole 13: 597 yard par 5, hazard on the left off the tee, and then dog leg right to the green. I hit a great drive and a very poor second shot into the woods. I made a double. Luckily so did Hammond. I dropped a stroke to Copperdale and Mont Cascade to put the matches at 2 up on Hammond, 3 up on Mont Cascade and even with Copperdale.

Hole 14: 323 yard par 4, hazard on left and OB on right. I hit a great drive down the middle, but came up short on my approach. Managed to chip to a foot and tap in for par. Hammond made a bogey while Mont Cascade and Copperdale also made pars. 3 up on Hammond, 3 up on Mont Cascade and even with Copperdale.

Hole 15: 151 yard par 3 surrounded by water. I hit a 7 iron to center of the green and 2 putted for par. On my first putt the hole was about 6 feet below me. Hammond and Mont Cascade both hit tee shots to 10 feet, but missed their putts, Copperdale hit his tee shot into the water. 3 up on Hammond, 3 up on Mont Cascade and 1 up on Copperdale.

Hole 16: 523 yard par 5 with very narrow landing area off tee and a lay-up required on your 2nd shot. I was now dormie with both Mont Cascade and Hammond, so they had to beat me this hole to extend the match. I hit 3 wood off the tee, then a 4 iron to the hundred yard mark, just shot of the water. I hit a sandwedge to the back of the green, leaving me a very tough downhill putt for birdie. Both Hammond and Mont Cascade were greenside in 4 while Mont Cascade was greenside in 5. with everyone on I had the advantage but wasted it blowing my birder putt by and then missing my par putt back up the hill. Luckily the other 2 missed their par putt and Copperdale missed his bogey putt. The match was over with Hammond and Mont Cascade, me winning 3&2 over both. I was 2 up on Copperdale with 2 to play.

Hole 17: 150 yard par 3 straight up hill. I was now dormie with Copperdale and he needed to beat me to extend the match. It was a 2 club elevation and I hit a 6 iron to the front of the green. Again I managed to 3 putt for bogey. Copperdale hit his tee shot short, chipped over the green, hit his par putt long and missed his bogey putt from 5 feet. The match with Copperdale was over with me winning 3&1.

Hole 18: 393 yard par 4 with pond on the left that comes out into fairway. I hit a hybrid short of pond, a 7 iron short of the green, chipped on and 2 putted for my bogey.

I won all 3 matches, took 6 points and shot 80 under pressure. It was a good day for me, unfortunately the rest of my team didn’t fair as well. I couple of the early tee offs took 4 points, but our number 1 and 3 player took 0 points and our number 2 player 2 points. I was the only player for Metcalfe to take 6 and the team finished 3rd. Back to Division I next year, Hammond finished 2nd and will host. Mont Cascades ran away with the event and will move up, while Club du Golf Champlain will be moving down from Division H and Haute Plaines (Clublink course) will be moving up from Division J.

That was my intersectionals adventure.

Aaron

Leave a Reply

