The Case of the Disappearing Short Game

Well it was an interesting week of golf. 2 rounds, but neither at Metcalfe. A 79 at Country Club de Montreal on Tuesday afternoon and an 86 at Tarandowa Golfer Club in Avon ON on Sunday morning. The only consistent theme between the two rounds was that my short game sucked.

I was in Montreal for work Tuesday and Wednesday last week and Tuesday afternoon I had the opportunity to play Country Club de Montreal with Yvon, a work colleague. The course, located in St.Lambert, QC on the south shore of Montreal is celebrating its 100th year of existence. The course is in excellent condition, with quick but fair greens. I am told the greens are even quicker in the summer months. From the back tees (but not the tips) the course plays around 6,500 yards with a rating of 71.8 and a slope of 133 and par 72. The course has a good mix of short and long par 4’s and 5’s. Although I only saw the dinning area the clubhouse looked quite large and impressive.

As for my round, I hit a lot of fairways, a lot of greens and even made some putts. Unfortunately, every green I did miss, lead to two chips and a double bogey. In the end it was 10 pars, 3 birdies and 5 double bogeys for a 79.

After a couple of days in Montreal I was home in Ottawa for Thursday and Friday before heading to St.Thomas for the weekend. While back in St.Thomas I managed to fit in a round at one of my favorite courses I have ever played. Tarandowa Golfers Club opened around 2004 after years of development. The course is a traditional inland links style course designed by Dr. Martin Hawtree. Dr. Hawtree has also worked on such courses as Muirfield and Royal Aberdeen in the UK. The course is one of the more challenging courses I have played, especially in the wind. The greens are not very receptive, so it takes some getting use to bouncing balls onto the green as opposed to firing at pins. The greens are quick with lots of subtle breaks. If you can stay out of the bunkers and fescue (spelling?) and can make some putts you can score well. Tarandowa plays 6,600 yards par 70, with a rating of 71.4 and a slope of 122. Sunday was my third round at Tarandowa and I have yet to break 80.

Sunday was much like my round Tuesday in that I couldn’t chip or pitch. The difference was I also missed a lot of greens. In the end I made no birdies, some pars, some bogeys and some double bogeys for an 86. I was disappointed to say the least. On the bright side Mary had a good round with a 101.

After a couple of weeks of playing some new courses it will likely be back to my regular routine of a couple 9 hole rounds per week at Metcalfe, mixed in with a 18 on Saturday or Sunday. First thing is first for me, I need to spend some time green side over the next couple of weeks trying to re-find my short game.

That’s all for this week,

Aaron

Leave a Reply

