Some Days are Good Days, Some Days are Bad Days

Well I knew it couldn’t last all season and how fitting that the inconsistency that is my golf game went south on the official opening weekend for handicapping in Eastern Ontario and Western Quebec.

Like my other games so far this summer I only managed to get 9 hole rounds in. First I played 9 holes on Saturday in Hamilton Ontario at Chedoke Civic Golf Course on the Martin Course. You may be asking why did I travel 7 hours to only play 9 holes? The answer being that I was in Hamilton not for the purpose of playing golf, but because my fiance was having a bridal shower at my aunts house.

The Martin Course at Chedoke Civic Golf Course was built in 1896 and was the original Hamilton Golf and Country Club. The course was renovated 1949-50 by renowned course designer Stanley Thompson. Course information can be found here. We played the front 9.

To start, it was cold, windy and at times wet. However, I’m not making excuses. The course is not that hard, although has some tough holes (such as the 260 yard par 3 3rd). In general non of the 3 of us played well, my brother Colin, who plays twice a year shot a 54, while Chris, my best man to be and a solid single digit handicap and I both shot 46’s (par was 37). For me the path looked like this, 4,6,6 (triple), 4, 4,6 (double), 6, 5, 5 = 46. I don’t think I hit any greens, which means I did have 3 up and downs for par. All and all i was impressed with the course (considering it is a municipal course), but my play and the weather (a high of 6 degrees) left a bit of a bad taste in my mouth.

Today (Sunday) was back in Ottawa and after working an 8 hour shift in the pro shop Mary and I got out for a quick 9 around 3pm. The weather was much nicer today, but still on the cool side (about 10 degrees). My round started well with 3 pars, but quickly went south with a bogey on 4, a double on 5, and then bogey on 6, 7, and 8. I finished with a par and 42. I hit 3 greens, 4 fairways, had 17 putts and 1 up and down.

2 rounds entered brings my handicap up to 9.4. I am hoping to be down to an 8 by July 1st, lots of work to do.

Next round will likely be 9 holes tomorrow after work and then I am off to Calgary for a week. Hoping to play while there, we shall see.

Find of the week – If you are looking to take a golf trip this summer, but don’t want to spend the money going to far, why not check out what Ontario has to offer. Ontario, Yours to Discover website has a great section of their website dedicated to Golf. Whether you are looking for information on where to play across the province or looking for a listing of resorts in the province with courses you will find what you are looking for here: www.ontariotravel.net

Until next week,

Aaron

Leave a Reply

