And We’re Off

First shifts of the season at Metcalfe G&CC under my belt, first 9 holes of the year under my belt, and just like that it is golf season.

Original plan for the weekend was to head out to the driving range Thursday, work 8 hours at the golf course Friday, play 9 holes Friday afternoon and then head to Montreal for the weekend for Easter with the fiance’s (Mary) family and then finish off the long weekend with another 6 hour shift at the course on Monday. Thursday went as planned as Mary and I made it to the driving range after work and proceeded to work off some of the winter rust and man did it feel nice to swing a golf club. Even nicer was the fact that I seemed to be less rusty than I would have expected, although off the tee I was tending to push the ball a little, but all and all I was quite happy with how well my game ‘wintered.” Next up was Friday, which started off with a 6:00am – 3:00pm shift at the course. I expected opening day to be busy, but wow, busy does not begin to describe it. The course was fully booked from 7am – 3pm on both the 9 and 18 hole course. While this was great for opening day at the golf course it wasn’t the best for the golfers, as by early afternoon 18 holes was taking between 5.5 – 6 hours. What all this meant for me is that I worked my tail off for 8 hours and then made the calculated decision not to play my first round of the year as 9 holes was looking to take about 3 hours. So, we packed up the car and headed to Montreal for the weekend.

After a nice Easter weekend in Montreal it was back to business with a Monday shift at the golf course. With it raining outside the chance of getting in my first round of the season seemed bleak, until around 3:00pm when the rain stopped and the clouds cleared producing a very pleasant holiday afternoon. With rain most of the day the crowds had stayed away leaving the course vacant for Mary and I to tee it up at 6pm and wip around 9 holes in 1 hour 35 minutes, putting out on the 9th hole just as the sun was setting.

First the details on the course conditions … WOW. First off, let’s all remember it is April 5th, not May 5th, the grass is a little long, the greens a little slow and a few brown spots still covering the fairways. The greens and fairways were greener than they were last May on the 9 hole course, the greens rolled true, and the course was dry, really dry, my shoes didn’t even get damp. If this is a sign of things to come for the 2010 golf season it could be the best season, course condition wise, in a long time.

Now, for the details of the game. I hit the ball well and putted ok, in the end it was a 38 (5, 4, 4, 5, 6, 4, 3, 4, 4), 4 fairways hit, 6 greens hit, 15 putts. No complaints here!

Not sure when round 2 will be, but hopefully sooner rather than later.

Now for my find of the week. “The Last Putt, One Dream, Two Teams and a Freshman Named Tiger.” It is available through chapters and you can read an excerpt here. I haven’t read it myself, but it sounds pretty decent, kinda of “A Good Walk Spoiled” but on college golf instead of the PGA tour.

Leave a Reply

